A visit to the Louvre and its Napoleon III apartments (via Ritournelle)

Characters from l to r: The Queen Henrietta Ma...

Image via Wikipedia

During my last days in France, I decided to pay a visit to the Louvre. My parents used to drag me there on weekends in my early childhood but I hadn’t gone back since. What a shame, I know. The Louvre is one of the world’s most famous museums but its history is not so well known. The medieval remains in the basement level recall the origins of the palace as a fortress. The Louvre then became a royal residence until Louis XIV decided to move far a … Read More

via Ritournelle

Leave a Reply

